Did you know that New York was the first state to require license plates on vehicles? In 1901 this became law in the Empire State. Thus, Vintage New York License Plates can date from over 100 years ago. Presently in New York if you have an automobile or other vehicle that is over 25 years old, you can register it as vintage and it can be driven with a vintage New York License Plate.
You are required to use the vintage plate that was valid in the year of the vehicle manufacture including the metal tab if it was a year where that was also required.
Vintage New York plates are legal, and also collectible. They add to the look of your vehicle and can even make a statement when displayed on your wall.